St. Urbans-Hof Estate in Leiwen, Mosel

Flat vineyards around the St. Urbanshof winery in Leiwen

There are not only steep slopes and stony vineyards along the Mosel but also flat bits, as in the picture above which shows the vineyards around the winery of St. Urbans-Hof in Leiwen, Mosel.

St. Urbans-Hof Oekonomierat Nic. Weiss Estate is member in the prestigeous VDP, the association of the top wineries in Germany. I visited the cellar door on a bleak November morning last year.

The winery

The entrance to the estate

Cellar door

Cellar door

Cellar door

My purchase

Wine box with label

2009 Laurentiuslay Riesling GG St. Urbans-Hof

The tasting of German “grand cru” (GG=grosses Gewaechs) Riesling wines by the German wine magazine “Weinwelt” awarded 91 points to the ‘2009 Leiwen Laurentiuslay Riesling GG’ by St. Urbans-Hof. I bought a couple of bottles, one of which I openend with a meal of game prepared by my friend Heinz. The wine is a wonderful specimen of Mosel Riesling and shows all the marvelleous characteristics they posses.

My conclusion is that any visitor to the Mosel river should visit the wine village of Leiwen, and – ergo – the fantastic wineries and vineyards to taste these georgeous Riesling wines.

Address:
Weingut St. Urbans-Hof
Urbanusstraße 16
D-54340 Leiwen/Mosel
Tel.: +49 65 07 / 93 77-0
Fax: +49 65 07 / 93 77-30
www.urbans-hof.de

5 Responses to St. Urbans-Hof Estate in Leiwen, Mosel

  1. woow !!
    for bad luck I live in Egypt 😦

  2. cars says:

    Shopping for a new or used car can be a difficult process if you do not know what you are doing.
    By educating yourself about car shopping before you head to the dealership, you can make things easier for
    yourself. The following tips can help your next shopping trip be more
    enjoyable.

  3. I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  4. Wow, this paragraph is good, my younger sister is analyzing
    such things, so I am going to tell her.

  5. Dominic says:

    Hello I am so excited I found your blog page,
    I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Anyhow I
    am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a
    remarkable post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a comment