Geoff Achison at the Yarra Glen Grand Hotel

I will have to jump a bit regarding the time line. There is so much to write about. Some of it happened in 2008 but I still want so let you know. The live music with Geoff Achison took place on December 18th I think.

geoff1

Fortunately, it did not rain. We had been unloading containers the whole day and furniture and other stuff was all over the place. It was hard work and we were very much looking forward to the evening.

It was just my second evening in Australia. It should become a memorable event. Michael, my brother-in-law, had booked a table for a dinner with a music performance by Geoff Achison, a famous blues guitar player, at the Grand Hotel in Yarra Glen.

geoff2

The girls had a bottle of ‘2005 Yering Station Cabernet Sauvignon’, a very nice wine from the oldest vineyard in Victoria (founded in 1838 ) which is just around the corner from Yarra Glen.

geoff3

When I went to the bar, I discovered that they had a German beer on tap and could not resist (I was also the driver) to order a Beck’s. The food was solid and we enjoyed the atmosphere.

The Grand was packed with people, young and old to listen to the “legend”: Geoff Achison. He did not disappoint us.

Geoff had to give a few encores before the crowd allowed him to take a rest. Before departing I bought two of his CD’s and had a nice chat with him.

Michael had introduced me to his music years ago but so far there was no opportunity to see him live. His voice, is the voice of a black man and his virtuosity on the guitar is just amazing. Check out his webpage: www.geoffachison.com but Geoff is also on facebook and has a fan website. I love his music, especially the old blues pieces.

This pleasurable evening should be an auspicious start to my holidays in Australia, I thought. Thank you Geoff and cheers folks to four eventful weeks in the country.

10 Responses to Geoff Achison at the Yarra Glen Grand Hotel

  1. Darby says:

    You’re right about Geoff Achison Rainer. He really is one of Australia’s national treasures. He has been resident in the States for a couple of years but is back in OZ (mainly) for a while. He also tours in the UK from time to time.

    Geoff is mainly a blues man but has had an affection for Jazz since he was a kid. I’m going to see him perform with a Jazz combo with Bob Sedergreen this weekend.

    Good to read about one of my other passions (blues) on a wine Blog.

    Glad you enjoyed your time downunder.

  2. Lon says:

    Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I liked this post.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!

  3. I am now not positive the place you’re getting your info, however good topic. I must spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thank you for fantastic information I used to be looking for this info for my mission.

  4. spain says:

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  5. Belinda says:

    Good web site you have got here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  6. almshnwi.com says:

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through
    Google, and found that it is really

    informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will be grateful if you continue

    this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  7. Bethany says:

    Awesome blog! Do you have any tips

    and hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog

    soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you
    suggest starting with a free platform like

    WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely

    overwhelmed .. Any tips? Appreciate it!

  8. Tomoko says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before.
    So nice

    to search out any person with some authentic thoughts

    on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up.
    this web site is something that is wanted on the net, somebody with a bit of originality.

    helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

  9. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find many
    of your post’s to be exactly what I’m

    looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for
    you? I wouldn’t mind writing

    a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write

    about here. Again, awesome web site!

  10. Hey very cool site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing ..
    I will bookmark your

    site and take the feeds also…I’m happy to find so many useful

    info here in the post, we need develop more techniques in this regard, thanks
    for

    sharing. . . . . .

Leave a comment